Roles That We Play in Our Lives

Yes, it has been 2 weeks since my last post. But I’m prioritizing my exams, because I can’t afford to do badly! Anyway, that’s beside the point. I decided to just write for 10 minutes and just post it. Starting now!

I’ve been thinking a lot about the different roles that we play throughout the course of our lives. To quote William Shakespeare:

“All the world’s a stage,
And all the men and women merely players.
They have their exits and their entrances,
And one man in his time plays many parts…”

This is a part of a monologue from As You Like It, which I actually studied at school last year for English Literature. A friend, a sibling, a daughter/ son, a student, there are so many roles that we play in our day-to-day life. The world is a stage, as we don’t act the same way that we do with our parents, with our friends. The roles that we play are dynamic and the manner with which we act changes according to who we’re with and the situation we’re in. But sometimes, we tend to forget that the people around us don’t just play one role. A few weeks ago, my teacher at school was commenting about how we students messaged/ emailed her with queries at night. She didn’t really appreciate how late the queries came in, as she’d put aside that time for family. She reminded us that she was a daughter to her parents, a wife to her husband and a sister to her brothers, and not just our teacher. At times, some of us forget that their lives don’t revolve around us and demand a lot from them. They have other roles to play as well, and it’s important to keep that in mind.

Going off on a tangent, one of my closest friends was chosen to be in the position of head prefect/ head girl in her school about 6 months ago. I’ve known her since kindergarten, so for about 10 years now. We used to be in the same school for about 6+ years but then we split up into different ones. For a while, even now actually, I’ve found it hard to wrap my head around the fact that she’s the head girl at her school, that hundreds of girls at her school know who she is, and maybe even look up to her. In my eyes, she’s still one of my closest friends whom I’ve had lots of laughs and great memories with. But as a result, I also disregarded the fact that she has so many responsibilities to take care of and expected her to still prioritize spending with me. Only when she came to me cracking under all the stress, did I actually think about how much she has to do.

After that, I’ve been more respectful of the fact that she has many expectations and duties to carry out and that right now, I’m not high up there. And I don’t really mind. I’m immensely proud of her and where she’s gotten. I think the point of this post is that we should always remember and be aware that the people in our lives play many other roles and that their lives don’t always revolve around us.

It’s been 25 minutes since I started, 15 minutes over 10 (oops). But I enjoyed writing this, I’ll make sure to do more like this. Right now, I should really get back to studying for my exams. This time, you can definitely expect a new post next weekend as my exams will be over by then. Till next time! 🙂

Leave a comment